1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Quadrafire Feed issue

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Smcc, Jan 29, 2013.

  1. Smcc

    Smcc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Loc:
    North Shore MA
    Hello All,
    I have a 5 or 6 year old Mount Vernon Quad that is having feed issues. The auger seems to get clogged after about an hour of running. I’ve checked the basics like the vacuum switch, snap disc 2, the auger movement, the voltage out of the controller and everything seems fine. I’ve pulled the auger (checked the set screw) and cleaned the hopper but none of this solved the problem. After about an hour the flame height is all over the place and often the stove will shut down but the command from the controller telling the auger to move is still present. But no pellets are dropping. I’m using Lignetics pellets in the white bag but plan on switching bands tonight. What I’m I missing? Any idea’s would be much appreciated.

    Also should the gasket on the glass door make a complete square? Mine only has the gasket on the two sides and the bottom, not the top.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,356
    Loc:
    Kinsman, Oh 44428 Brookfield, Oh 44403
    AE or OE unit?
  3. Smcc

    Smcc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Loc:
    North Shore MA
    I believe it's an OE
  4. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,356
    Loc:
    Kinsman, Oh 44428 Brookfield, Oh 44403
    I would be looking at another motor if you checked everything else.

    Eric
  5. Harvey Schneider

    Harvey Schneider Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,118
    Loc:
    Southbury, CT
    If there is a capacitor on the auger motor it may be the culprit. The motor can't decide which way to run without it.
  6. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,356
    Loc:
    Kinsman, Oh 44428 Brookfield, Oh 44403
    They no longer make the capacitor as a stand alone part, you must buy the entire set up.
  7. Bkins

    Bkins Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    404
    Loc:
    Jersey Shore
    As a owner of one of these stoves and all I've got to say is: "You have got to be kidding me" It is a $1 part, if that.
    kinsmanstoves likes this.
  8. Harvey Schneider

    Harvey Schneider Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,118
    Loc:
    Southbury, CT
    If you can read the markings on the cap you can buy one from an electronics distributor like Mouser or Digikey.
    jtakeman likes this.
  9. Smcc

    Smcc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Loc:
    North Shore MA
    Thanks for the responses guys.

    I will pop in a new cap to be sure. I did remove the red wire on one side of the cap and didn't see a change in the auger movement. It continued to move in both directions.
  10. Smcc

    Smcc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Loc:
    North Shore MA
    Any thoughts about the door gasket odd how they wouldn't put full gasket on the glass door.
  11. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Thats the airwash. No gasket there
  12. Smcc

    Smcc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Loc:
    North Shore MA
    Thanks. I was just reading through some old threads and it seems a failed cap will cause the auger motor to reverse. This is what I am seeing. Thought that was odd but didn't know what the normal motion was.
  13. Smcc

    Smcc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Loc:
    North Shore MA
    Installed a new cap and everything is back to normal. For those of you who don't want to buy the jumper kit the capacitor is a metalized Polly 250v 394k. Thanks for all your help guys.
  14. Harvey Schneider

    Harvey Schneider Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,118
    Loc:
    Southbury, CT
    394k doesn't sound like a cap designation. uF, nF, pF are normal units of measure for caps.
  15. Smcc

    Smcc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Loc:
    North Shore MA
    That was the designation on the componant that failed. I found one with the same designation in an old power supply. The measured capacitance was about .39uF on the replacement. The EE at my work also had questions about the values, Perhaps it's not a capacitor?

    It's working great now.
  16. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,227
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    It is a part number or fraction of a part number.
  17. Harvey Schneider

    Harvey Schneider Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,118
    Loc:
    Southbury, CT
    I see it now. It's an encoded part value.
    394k is 39 x 10^4 nano-Farads = 0.39 micro-Farads, and the k is 10% tolerance.

Share This Page