1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Quick question...?

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by suprz, Oct 21, 2012.

  1. suprz

    suprz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    219
    Loc:
    Rhode island
    Just wondering what the outer diameter of Selkirk class A pipe is for a 6 inch inner flue. When they built this house i swear it was after a liquid lunch on a friday before a holiday weekend! According to my studfinder, where i want to put this stove the clearance between the studs is only 10 inches!

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. jeff_t

    jeff_t Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,393
    Loc:
    SE MI
    Oops. Hope that really isn't the case when you tear into it. It is a possibility if you're looking at a corner, though.

    It will be right around 8" on th OD.
  3. Swedishchef

    Swedishchef Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,271
    Loc:
    Quebec, Canada
    Yeah, agreed with jeff_T: 8 inches. You left 10??

    Andrew
  4. webby3650

    webby3650 Master of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,072
    Loc:
    southern Indiana
    That not uncommon, there is probably something going on behind the scenes that needs that stud. Framers aren't know for putting in extra studs. You will have to head off a stud in order to get 12", or find a new location.
  5. suprz

    suprz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    219
    Loc:
    Rhode island
    Well, i do know that the stud in question is part of a group of 4 side by side studs now because before there used to be a wall that ended there and now that the wall is gone the carpenters filled in the gap between 2 studs with 2 more making a group of 4 and they did that because that was a load bearing wall. So you are saying that the wall thimble has to have a total of 12 inches in between studs? Because i swear this install has been nothing but grief. I cannot put the chimney anywhere else.
  6. EatenByLimestone

    EatenByLimestone Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    4,785
    Loc:
    Schenectady, NY
    What does the paperwork for the thimble say about clearances? The thimble I installed had more than 2" CTC on each side of insulation alone! If I remember correctly it took a full 15" bay, but used stainless single wall instead of double wall.


    If it is through the wall, you shouldn't have any problem opening it up for the thimble. The process is no different than if you called a carpenter and had them install a window in the middle of a wall.

    [​IMG]


    Matt
  7. suprz

    suprz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    219
    Loc:
    Rhode island
    I wish I knew the dimensions of the thimble I cannot get in touch with the installer all I know is the pipe he uses is selkirk. And the install is supposed to be done next monday....I dont see it happening that soon now

Share This Page