Quick question...?

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by suprz, Oct 21, 2012.

  1. suprz

    suprz
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    80
    Loc:
    Rhode island
    Just wondering what the outer diameter of Selkirk class A pipe is for a 6 inch inner flue. When they built this house i swear it was after a liquid lunch on a friday before a holiday weekend! According to my studfinder, where i want to put this stove the clearance between the studs is only 10 inches!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. jeff_t

    jeff_t
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    4,151
    Likes Received:
    1,101
    Loc:
    SE MI
    Oops. Hope that really isn't the case when you tear into it. It is a possibility if you're looking at a corner, though.

    It will be right around 8" on th OD.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. Swedishchef

    Swedishchef
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,212
    Likes Received:
    678
    Loc:
    Quebec, Canada
    Yeah, agreed with jeff_T: 8 inches. You left 10??

    Andrew
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. webby3650

    webby3650
    Expand Collapse
    Master of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6,306
    Likes Received:
    1,502
    Loc:
    Indiana
    That not uncommon, there is probably something going on behind the scenes that needs that stud. Framers aren't know for putting in extra studs. You will have to head off a stud in order to get 12", or find a new location.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  5. suprz

    suprz
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    80
    Loc:
    Rhode island
    Well, i do know that the stud in question is part of a group of 4 side by side studs now because before there used to be a wall that ended there and now that the wall is gone the carpenters filled in the gap between 2 studs with 2 more making a group of 4 and they did that because that was a load bearing wall. So you are saying that the wall thimble has to have a total of 12 inches in between studs? Because i swear this install has been nothing but grief. I cannot put the chimney anywhere else.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. EatenByLimestone

    EatenByLimestone
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,402
    Likes Received:
    526
    Loc:
    Schenectady, NY
    What does the paperwork for the thimble say about clearances? The thimble I installed had more than 2" CTC on each side of insulation alone! If I remember correctly it took a full 15" bay, but used stainless single wall instead of double wall.


    If it is through the wall, you shouldn't have any problem opening it up for the thimble. The process is no different than if you called a carpenter and had them install a window in the middle of a wall.

    [​IMG]


    Matt
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  7. suprz

    suprz
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    80
    Loc:
    Rhode island
    I wish I knew the dimensions of the thimble I cannot get in touch with the installer all I know is the pipe he uses is selkirk. And the install is supposed to be done next monday....I dont see it happening that soon now
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

Share This Page