Reducing Air Intake for England's 13-NC (Englander) - Burning too fast

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

qly77

Nov 13, 2020
NY
I've been burning for 2 years on my Englander and it's great but burns too fast. I can load it up with with hardwoods and once it gets going I put damper down to zero and it still burns through quickly - no lazy flames, constant fast wind-like burning of the coals and logs from the front dog-house where the air enters the box. I have a very tall chimney (old 2 story house, high pitched roof, not sure of exact size), and I've never had a problem with draft, even when it smokes early on. Always goes up right up. There is a large air intake hole in the back of the unit. I don't have any fan on it and it's just getting inside air (not hooked up to outside air connection). I feel that with the tall chimney the draft is just so strong that it can't stop pulling in too much air even with closed damper, resulting in a fast burn and using too much wood. I should also mention that I do not have a block plate above the stove - I lose some heat up into the chimney which probably helps with the draft but I hear that having a warm chimney/liner can help reduce creosote. (maybe?).