1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Running on High / H1 Error

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Tim M., Jan 3, 2013.

  1. Tim M.

    Tim M. New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Loc:
    Douglas, MA
    I think I know the answer to this, probably common sense but I am new on here and you guys are clearly the pro's.

    4 Degrees this morning, when elaving for work I thought I'd do my wife a favor (who was still sleeping) and turn our Flame FP-45 all the way up to 6 for the heat setting so it would be nice and even more toasty for her when she got up (she's a typical woman, always cold).

    She text me about 2 hours later and told me that stove shut off and was showing H1 code, told her how to reset it and the stove fired back up and I told her to turn it down to 3 or 4.

    I'm guessing these are not really supposed to be run on high for long periods of time?? I'd estimate it probably ran on 6 for about 60 - 90 minutes before shutting off.

    This is only our second season with this stove, it came with the house we bought last year so we are relatively new to the pellet stove world, we do love it though. Filled my oil tank in August and they delivered in early December, 33 gallons --- hoping to keep it to 1 tank for the whole year (used fo rhot water and emergency heat only)

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. The Radiator

    The Radiator Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Loc:
    Central CT
    Tim, it sounds like your stove needs a cleaning. Do you have a copy of your manual? Look in the troubleshooting section. H1 is a high temp problem. Could be exhaust or air blockages.
  3. Tim M.

    Tim M. New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Loc:
    Douglas, MA
    So I dont know what else to do or at what point I concede defeat and have to make a service call? I cleaned this as thoroughly as I knew how to today. Took both T traps off fromt he exhaist out pipe (one inside of the house and the other outside the house, and I emptied them. Did the leaf blower trick outside and got a very impressive cloud of ash out of there ....... cleaned inside of stove including getting the vac inside the conbustion blower, re-positioned the air intake hose to be as close as possible to the combustion blower, vacuumed out every spot I could fit the hose into onthe back of the stove, cleaned both blower fan screeens. Done everything I can think to do sans remove auger motor and combustion blower from housing ----- running stong for about 45 minutes, decided to push it and see how she would run on highest heat setting --- ran strong no problems for about 15 mins and then shut down with error code H1.

    I dont know what else to do ---- any suggestions, bad temp sensor possibly? Only other thing that I am waiting to remedy right now and not sure if this would make an enormous difference or not but the burn pot assembly has a gasket on the back side where it attaches to the ignitor, I could take a pic if it would help but basically the back of the burn pot has a short cylinder sticking out the back that fits to the ignitor, on the bottom of that piece that juts out ont he burn pot there is a small opening about 1/4 inch long and probably an 8th of an inch wide .... there is a round gasket that fits into that cylindrical piece which I currently do not have installed ---- beginning of this season it fell out and was basically disintegrated, I didnt think it was a major piece so I never replaced it. I have since ordered a new set of gaskets from SBI (last week) and they will be delivered on Monday. Coukd the absence of this gasket be causing my H1 / overheat problems????
  4. Tim M.

    Tim M. New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Loc:
    Douglas, MA
    Heres pics of the burnpot and the piece that is missing the gasket, again I cleaned everything I could think of. Fan blades on combustion and exhaust blower are very clean however I took a brush and cleaned them even further ........ got a flashlight into the combustion blower chamber after vacumming and it is spotless ...... everything looks as clean as can be, exhaust pipe going out has no blocks, air intake coming in has no blockage - clean as a whistle.

    I'm stuck.

    Attached Files:

  5. FyreBug

    FyreBug Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    771
    Loc:
    Kitchener, Ontario
    PM me your email address and I'll send you a tech sheet to show you how to clean your stove in depth. It may be you missed some spots.

    Also, remove the filters from the 2 pancake style Heat exchange blowers. Most people dont clean those often enough and we find after a while they cake up. If you have dogs or cats they cake up really fast. Bring the air damper to the minimum setting.

    The gaskets you are talking about are to seal air leaks around the igniter. Nothing to do with your overtemp.

Share This Page