Safe to burn pine?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Bwhunter85

Feeling the Heat
Aug 21, 2010
Sunfield, MI
I am new to burning. I have an add-on burner (Hotblast 1557m). I have heard it isn't safe to burn pine due to creosote build up. Is this true?

No. Pine is perfectly safe UNLESS it is not dry. Pine actually burns hotter, but it also burns quicker. Just make sure it is not green (wet).
Welcome!

Are you burning pine exclusively?

Yes I burn it all the time. All wood burns fine if its properly seasoned ( One year cut,split and stacked with pine).
Burns hot and fast just don't let it get out of control on ya and make sure you sweep the flue regularly (as with all wood).

X

firebroad said:

Nope, I just cut a big pine down and had the wood from it. I burn mostly Ash, Elm, and Oak. I do throw in some black walnut as well. I like the aroma it gives off.

Bwhunter85 said:
firebroad said:

Nope, I just cut a big pine down and had the wood from it. I burn mostly Ash, Elm, and Oak. I do throw in some black walnut as well. I like the eroma it gives off.

Free is even better! Cut it, split it and let it sit a year, it will be wonderful. I had a huge limb of cedar from last year, I hate to see it disappear, the aroma is heavenly. Also, makes the best kindling around, since my other wood is less than ideal.