Significant creosote building with Jotul F100

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

thecapegardener

Mar 17, 2013
This is my first year burning with a wood stove. I did the install myself and I was running an oval shaped stove pipe up through my flu. However, I removed it because the Jotul wouldn't draw anymore. When I removed the stove pipe the creosote was considerable. Lots of black wet tar.

I expanded the opening in my flu and replaced the pipe with standard 6" stove pipe. Due to the angle of my chimney my stove pipe only extends up about 4' into the chimney.

I burned all day today and noticed the same black tar again dripping back down. I am using season wood, but I am pretty unhappy with this Jotul. It just doesn't put out that much heat.

Is the considerable creosote caused by the stove not burning hot enough? Is it because my stove pipe isn't long enough?

It is not getting hot enough because the wood is most likely not as seasoned as you think. That's the reason for the creosote.

Reactions: milleo
I was annoyed with my stove when we first got it too, but thanks to the folks here, I quickly learned it was ME not the stove.

The wood we had was far from seasoned. We bought a moisture meter only to find that our so called seasoned wood was over 30%! We were able to use some pallets and eco bricks mixed with it to get the fire hot and the stove to throw heat until we had wood that was really seasoned.

If you have unseasoned wood, you probably hear it sizzle like bacon when it's burning, you can even sometimes see the steam or water bubbling out of the ends.