Sizing question - Heritage - homestead- tribute???

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

sarahf

Hearth Supporter
Sep 19, 2008
western MD
I am new to the wood stove world but after several months of research have opted for a wood stove (over a pellet). I like the hearthstone and am trying to decide between the Heritage, Homestead, and the Tribute. I live in western - central MD. My house is 2100+ square feet, 2 stories. It is an old house so the rooms are fairly small with 9 foot ceilings. Each of the rooms has a passive heat vent in the ceiling. The room that I want to put the wood stove in is 180 square feet and in the center of the house, it has 2 large windows on the side with the chimney, and the other three walls have double doorways to other rooms (one up the stairway). There are also ceiling fans in the rooms. The house has the original insulation - that would be plaster and horse hair with the upgrade of drywall on top of the plaster (I don't think that we are going to need to worry about "cracking" a door or window to prevent smoke from entering the house lol).