Wood stove question, Will venting sweat

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

heiert

Mar 20, 2024
Minnesota
This is my first time posting. We have been looking into adding a small wood stove like the Vermont Casting Aspen. The business I was talking to sent me a message regarding the install.

“The installers concern is that there won’t be a lot of attic space, so the venting will sweat. It is not a question as to if it will sweat, but when and how much. It would be an environmental issue and may damage the wood ceiling.”

My house is an older 2 story house built in 1883 with a 18x18 room addition, just ceiling with no attic, where I would want to have the wood stove. The install would go through the roof of the room addition and the chimney would extend up attached to the 2 story brick house for proper drafting.

I see other buildings/cabins that don’t have attics with a wood stove installed. Is the venting sweating a problem and what are others doing to prevent it?

Thank you for any insight that you may have.

The chimney pipe is well insulated. I would be less concerned about sweating than about poor drafting. Chimneys in 1 story additions have a track record of poor draft. Extra height may compensate.

The chimney would extend above the peak of the 2nd story. There shouldn’t be a drafting problem.
Thank you for your reply.

That definitely will help. Based on the description it sounds like the chimney will be supported in a cathedral ceiling support box. If so, that can also be insulated. Even better for keeping the chimney pipe warm would be if the chimney pipe was enclosed in a chase.