smoke getting into my room

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

john81

Oct 30, 2021
Netherlands
Hi, I'm new to wood stoves and installed the flue and wood stove myself. I have a problem with smoke entering my room when opening the stove door for re-fuelling. Let me first describe how my system looks like:

We have a Morsoe 1412 stove in an old house. The masonry chimney is about 5 meters tall and I used a flexible, double wanded stainless steel flue pipe which I put into the masonry chimney. The fireplace has a concrete plate at 1 meter height with a 12 cm hole where a 2 mm thick iron flue pipe is connected to the flexible double wanded flue pipe. I used a 90 degree T piece to convert from vertical to horizontal flue pipe as I use the rear connection of my Morsoe 1412 stove. The reason for using the rear connection is otherwise we have to put the stove inside the mantelpiece which had some wooden parts, so we want to keep the stove at distance from this part. We therefore put the stove about 15 cm in front of the front side of the mantelpiece.

When opening the stove door, over 50% of the time smoke is visibly coming out of the stove, which creates an unpleasant smell in my room. Things I've tried without effort:

* opening the door only when temperature is high enough
* opening the door just a few cm's, waiting a moment and slowly opening it further
* re-fuelling as quick as possible
* crack a window before opening stove door
* waiting for the flames to disappear, loading the new wood onto the glowing coals