Stove for a Vacation Rental

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

JIm Hewitt

Sep 7, 2013
Hi, I'm new to wood stoves. My wife and I have a vacation rental and would like to install a freestanding woodstove. There is an existing brick chimney that the former owner had for a wood stove so it will be a through the wall installation. The wall is sheet rock. The room is about 600 sq ft. We want to install the stove partly for heating but more for atmosphere. We need it to be a releiable stove because it will be used mostly by vacationers who don't always treat vacation homes as nicely as they would their own and may not have a lot of experience with a wood stove. What brand/models would you recommend for this situation? Thanks for your help.

Welcome Jim. The first thing you need to do is assert that the chimney is clean and safe to direct connect a stove to. Have a professional chimney sweep come out to check the chimney. He will check to see if the chimney is tile-lined or not and its condition. If the chimney is in great shape, the next thing to check is the inside dimension of the chimney. These factors will determine whether you need to put a stainless liner in the chimney for best stove performance. Many modern stoves are draft sensitive. They need a properly sized and height chimney to work well. How tall is this chimney?

A nice, sturdy small stove is the Morso 2110 if you are looking at cast iron stoves. If the budget is tight then take a look at the Englander 17VL. It's a good performer.

Englander 30

Um, this is a 600 sq ft room.Stove is mostly for atmosphere.