1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Stove surface temperature

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by techsol, May 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. techsol

    techsol New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Loc:
    NW Connecticut
    Can anyone tell me what temperature the exterior(top) of a typical stove get sto in normal operation? I'm out of pellets for this year and wanted to get a temp sensor but don't know what range would be enough for a recorder I want to get. the one I'm looking at goes to 258 degrees but I didn't know if that was a touch low.

    Thoughts?

    Thanks

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Shooter

    Shooter New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Loc:
    Michigan
    You might have to specify the type of stove as they all will vary. Also, where you are wanting to "shoot" the temp. Sorry I cant help.
  3. techsol

    techsol New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Loc:
    NW Connecticut
    Shoot? as in non contact temp readings?

    I'm looking at a contact style sensor.

    Its an Avalon
  4. Shooter

    Shooter New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Loc:
    Michigan
    I thought you were talking about an I.R. gun :)
  5. Wet1

    Wet1 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,528
    Loc:
    USA
    I can't give you an exact answer, but I suspect 258* F would probably be high enough... certainly for mid to lower feed/temp settings. I know these things don't run anywhere nearly as hot as wood stoves do. I have an Englander stove and I don't recall water ever boiling on it (we place scented water on the stove), although I never run it wide open.

    What's the next heat range they come in after 258?
  6. techsol

    techsol New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Loc:
    NW Connecticut
    That's my problem the data logger I'm going to use has sensors up to 125 c (258F) but not higher. I'm converting a Avalon to water jackets to tap off to my hydronic system. :cheese:

    Thanks for the info

    Dick
  7. stoveguy13

    stoveguy13 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    984
    Loc:
    CT
    are you talking about doing this with a pellet or wood stove?
  8. techsol

    techsol New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Loc:
    NW Connecticut
    Pellet stove refitted and modified
  9. stoveguy13

    stoveguy13 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    984
    Loc:
    CT
    I think you will have a hard time bring the water up to temp if you are talking about wrapping the body of the stove the stove body temps are very low and to try and heat the water with the body would be pretty tough the air is pushed by blowers threw heat exchangers to keep away from most of the body becareful to not bring the body temp up to high and start the hopper on fire.
  10. techsol

    techsol New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Loc:
    NW Connecticut
    Actually I'm removing and changing the pellet hopper to a larger external source and feed. The air exchanger is going to be water filled tubes with external water jacks. All feeding an external storage tank
  11. beerwizza

    beerwizza New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Loc:
    South Attleboro, Ma
    I've checked mine with an infrared temp senser I bought at China Freight ( I mean Harbor Freight ). I never had a reading go over 120* on the top surface and about 140* on the front and about 250* just inside the vent opening. This is all on my Harman XXV.

    Rick.
  12. techsol

    techsol New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Loc:
    NW Connecticut
    That's exactly what I was looking for, Thanks much!!!!
  13. stoveguy13

    stoveguy13 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    984
    Loc:
    CT
    just a thought you may want to becareful if something goes wrong the insurances company may not cover the damage for something like this.
  14. techsol

    techsol New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Loc:
    NW Connecticut
    Appreciate the concerns. I'm keeping all the factory interlocks and safety devices . Adding in a pressure valve, aquastat control and few other things. Safety has to be a upfront consideration, for the family and house!

    Thanks Dick
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page