1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Stove with 5-1/2" Pipe?

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by Sean Fawcett, Dec 1, 2012.

  1. Sean Fawcett

    Sean Fawcett New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Hi:

    Due to a cracked ceramic liner, we need to have our fireplace chimney relined with a stainless steel liner. The Chimney expert does not think a 6 inch pipe will fit but he can get a 5-1/2 inch flexible liner installed. He also says that many newer stoves (more efficient) that have 6 inch breaches can be used with a 5-1/2 inch flue.

    Does anyone know if it would be OK to use a 5-1/2" stainless steel liner with a Vermont Castings Wood Stove, model 0041 Resolute Acclaim?

    Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    28,726
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    I have one 21' 5.5" SS liner and one 34' stainless steel liner and they both work great with my six inch flue collar stoves. They aren't cat stoves but both liners draft vacuum cleaners.
  3. chimneylinerjames

    chimneylinerjames Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    381
    Yes I have installed them before and have seen no difference in draft. The 5.5" liners are great when room is tight.
  4. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    48,330
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    Should work ok. How tall is the chimney?
  5. Sean Fawcett

    Sean Fawcett New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Not sure, probably about 30 feet from the top of the existing fireplace opening.

    Thanks for all the replies. Sounds like this is an OK thing to do... A new stove will cost about $4,000 I think but I can get the refurbished Vermont Castings Resolute Acclaim for $1,200. I'd love to save the money but I don't want the flue installer telling me "Oh, we can't use a 5-1/2" liner with that stove"

    Is there anything I should watch out for?

    Are certain stoves with 6" flue collars not appropriate?

    The stove will be in an existing fireplace opening on a brick hearth so there is nothing anywhere near combustable close by.
  6. chimneylinerjames

    chimneylinerjames Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    381
    There are no stoves that have a 5.5" collar, the liner will have a stove connector that is 6" on one side and accepts the 5.5" liner on the other side. So all 6" stoves can use a 5.5" liner.
  7. rdust

    rdust Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,799
    Loc:
    Michigan
    If it's 30' it should draft fine. I'm using a 5.5 liner that's about 27' with around 3' of double wall off the stove. Sometimes the draft was too much for my non cat stove, for the BK it's fine most the time. Warmer weather I have to watch the reloads or I'll occasionally let a wisp of smoke out.(low flue temps on the BK)
  8. raybonz

    raybonz Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6,205
    Loc:
    Carver, MA.
    Congrats and welcome to the forum! Personally I would avoid VC stoves due to poor customer support and expensive upkeep. What is the stove you're considering?

    Ray
  9. Ablaze Tech

    Ablaze Tech New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Loc:
    Neenah, WI
    If it is an 8x8 tile that is cracked the inside size should be around 6" making it difficult to reline with a 6" pipe. What I would do is remove the tile sections to make room for a 6" liner. Also most manufacturers of chimney liners will require it to be insulated when burning wood. So I suggest insulating. This will give you the best performance out of your wood stove and it will make your chimney system a lot safer.
    chimneylinerjames likes this.
  10. chimneylinerjames

    chimneylinerjames Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    381
    I agree, that is the best thing you can do. Remove all the tiles making room for the insulation also.
  11. HotCoals

    HotCoals Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,257
    Loc:
    Rochester,Ny.
    x3..do it right the first time on this makeover.
  12. raybonz

    raybonz Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6,205
    Loc:
    Carver, MA.
    I don't know if it is required but I had a sweep use a tile breaker and install a 6" insulated liner.

    Ray
  13. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,161
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    I would run the 5.5" liner & adapt it to your stove with the proper increaser & leave the tile alone... Removing 30 feet of terra cotta is an expensive job & is probably not needed. Buy yourself a liner from a reputable distributor & you'll be fine. 30' will draft fine - maybe too well.. If you seem to be getting a creosote build up in the uppermost areas, you can always add some Thermix as an insulator later on.
  14. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    28,726
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    I'm with Daksy. Why spend a bunch of money solving a problem you don' t have.
  15. HotCoals

    HotCoals Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,257
    Loc:
    Rochester,Ny.
    Well I'm thinking a 5.5 flue would draw even harder then a 6...I could be wrong.
    And 30' is up there pretty good.
    Maybe I'm wrong but I thought a bigger opening drew less then a smaller one.
    Prolly would be fine either way though.
    Of course a bigger opening would allow more volume to escape with a cooler run...but colder.
    I doubt all that much diff though between 5.5 and 6.
  16. chimneylinerjames

    chimneylinerjames Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    381
    If you decide not to use insulation around the liner, make sure the liner is still UL listed with no insulation for a wood stove. As far as I know, the manufactures require insulation to maintain the UL listing for solid burning appliances, such as wood and coal.
  17. raybonz

    raybonz Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6,205
    Loc:
    Carver, MA.
    I wanted mine removed because a chimney fire created vertical cracks so I know the creosote was on the outside of the chimney tile.. This also allowed me to install a 6" insulated liner. The creosote did go through the other side of tiles due to the cracks..

    Ray
  18. Ablaze Tech

    Ablaze Tech New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Loc:
    Neenah, WI
    When stoves have a six inch flue outlet that means they have been put through their testings using a 6" liner. If you go to a 5.5 you are violating the manufacturers guidelines. Since your stove was probably never tested or listed to use a 5.5" liner. It wouldn't hurt to contact the stove manufacturer and get approval before you use a 5.5" Price is not an option when it comes to safety and performance. I would go 6".
    HotCoals likes this.
  19. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,161
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    Interesting comment, & I'll admit I haven't had anybody bring that fact up. Some research into the matter does indicate that it IS a violation of NFPA-211 to connect a solid fuel appliance to a flue with a smaller cross-sectional area than the flue collar of the stove. I'd hate to venture a guess as to how many units have been "professionally installed" in this manner.

Share This Page