1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

In Progress Tapatalk users - please read and comment

Post in 'New Forum Hints and your Questions & Suggestions!' started by webbie, Oct 13, 2013.

  1. UMainah

    UMainah Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    192
    Loc:
    Bangor, ME
    Personally, I would be very disappointed if tapatalk support was removed. The amount I visit the forums would drop drastically.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. bmblank

    bmblank Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    691
    Loc:
    Michigan
    I use tapatalk almost exclusively, but the issue i run into is allot (maybe 50% out more) of the posts just don't show up. There's a space for it, but they just don't show up. In some threads I'll get just about all of them, but others I'll get posts 5, 6, 9, 22-27, etc. (those are just random numbers i made up to make my point). This is an issue i only have on hearth.com, no other forums so far.
    For this reason i wouldn't be too broken up. If the issue I'm having were fixed, i would rather stay with tapatalk, or another app based forum tool. Any alternatives that would work?
  3. webbie

    webbie Seasoned Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,331
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    Yeah, I don't like that bit - and I don't think I can disable it. Folks should be able to use a browser without being forced to dismiss that notice.
  4. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    28,641
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    Lots of Xenforo and VBB forum admins have or are in the process of dropping Tapatalk because it is a "fork" into system files bypassing security. Whether they are in China or Boise, it is becoming an issue.

    I only mod a forum not admin one. But I ran large scale IT shops for 30 years and I would have never let something like that into any of them.
    Jags likes this.
  5. webbie

    webbie Seasoned Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,331
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    No real alternatives. The other one (forumrunner) is owned by the main competitor to our forum SW and that company has proved not to be little guy friendly (IMHO). Also, they just had a giant security nightmare, which then goes back to the trust issue.
  6. Clarkbug

    Clarkbug Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,013
    Loc:
    Upstate NY
    I like to use Tapatalk on the occasion I think to check out Hearth, and found it handy for uploading photos. However, they are getting themselves a bad rap in the Google Play store, where they are now apparently offering a free version, but there is a new "PRO" version that requires separate payment. I keep getting a notice on my tablet that I have to upgrade and cannot use the old version any longer. Not sure whats up with all of it (this is going off of some of the reviews for the app in the store), but Im content to stay where I am currently.

    So, that said, I like that Hearth is available through Tapatalk, but I find your concerns justified for letting an unknown into all of the forum bits and pieces.
    clemsonfor likes this.
  7. Treacherous

    Treacherous Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    949
    Loc:
    WA state
    Good point!!! It has made posting pics from my iPhone a lot easier. I totally understand security concerns so will support whatever you choose. I normally host my pics at Picasa when I am posting from my laptop.
  8. jeff_t

    jeff_t Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,611
    Loc:
    SE MI
    Interesting that I just got a security warning when I opened the site just now. This was using the browser, not tapatalk, and this is a screenshot of the certificate. In fact, I got a new phone yesterday, and haven't installed tapatalk yet.

    2013-10-15-08-48-03.jpg

    For the record, I wouldn't miss it. I get along with this forum software just fine.
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2013
  9. Dairyman

    Dairyman Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    458
    Loc:
    Southwest MO
    I only use my phone and I like tapatalk to cruise the forum. Mainly just because its faster. The recent update to the forum has helped and if the banner ads were fixed I doubt I'd miss it much. I've never loaded pics with the app I find it a breeze to load on my browser.

    That version was free while it was in beta testing. You should be able to download a free version agian. Convo is another free version of tapatalk and it stinks.
  10. clemsonfor

    clemsonfor Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,468
    Loc:
    Greenwood county, SC
    Once u use it you can't stop. Way easier to navigate. And it pushes instant notifications so that u can participate in real time if u like.
    UMainah and Justin M like this.
  11. clemsonfor

    clemsonfor Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,468
    Loc:
    Greenwood county, SC
    I lately have been getting the same thing as I pointed out. Its for the last week or so has not let me in period unless I go in through the notification thing when someone replies to my posts .
  12. Justin M

    Justin M Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    273
    Loc:
    Southbury, CT
    I had the same problem before I downloaded the TT update. I didn't have to pay for it and I'm not sure if that was because I was a beta tester or not.
  13. Justin M

    Justin M Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    273
    Loc:
    Southbury, CT
    There sure is a lot of activity in this thread for only 0.002% of the daily visitors.
  14. clemsonfor

    clemsonfor Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,468
    Loc:
    Greenwood county, SC
    Its because this .0002% is some of the most vocal. Most members to a forum have 0 posts the other large group have less than 10. There plenty that go on sites to read something and never contribute or join. Or are a member bit did not sign in .
  15. Justin M

    Justin M Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    273
    Loc:
    Southbury, CT
    Exactly. The 35 out 15,000 unique daily visitors are not as insignificant as it sounds.
    Joful and clemsonfor like this.
  16. clemsonfor

    clemsonfor Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,468
    Loc:
    Greenwood county, SC
    Another issues no one has brought up is. That because the browser is so busy with format and adds its more junk there. I live in a rural area and work in the woods as a forester. We don't have a cell tower over us at every corner. TT loads much better on 1 or less bars than the website.

    Those who want to argue take your fancy iPhone and drive 50 miles from a major metro area where you have 2 bars of 3 g and navigate, post and they to load pics with browser then with TT.

    Making it worse I have a slow cheap phone.

    I do hate that if you have no signal or it fades out as you submit your post with TT it just diss appears. For rum runner does not do this. And I like that feature.
  17. clemsonfor

    clemsonfor Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,468
    Loc:
    Greenwood county, SC
    Yep I bet one TT user posts as much in a day as the lowest ranking 5000 of those visitors.
  18. Joful

    Joful Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6,359
    Loc:
    Philadelphia
    I stopped three days ago. I'm posting this from the web browser on my phone. Works great!
  19. clemsonfor

    clemsonfor Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,468
    Loc:
    Greenwood county, SC
    I have tried. Its slower on low end phones to use the browser. Not only that I have to open browser and either go to bookmark or select an old tab. That takes more time to load. And that does not even then cover the fact that I have to manually resize my screen so that it fits full screen. See my screen grab a few pages back, heck its so easy I will post again. Its a thin strip that's less than half the screen. This is a pic before fully loaded. My screen grab app does not work all the time? But it will first load this way then jump to full screen then resize back to how it looks in this pic. I also did not size it this way it does this each time I open it. Its sizing to the add.

    Attached Files:

  20. Dairyman

    Dairyman Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    458
    Loc:
    Southwest MO
    Your browser is opening pages in overview. You should be able to change that in your settings.
    jeff_t likes this.
  21. clemsonfor

    clemsonfor Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,468
    Loc:
    Greenwood county, SC
    OK I just deleted TT4 which I got for free. And loaded the new free TT. No more browser for me I'm on TT if and until he makes a switch or dumps it.

    As to the owerview I'm not sure where those settings are? I'm only a smart phone owner for the last 5 months or so. But forum access throughout the day has been a big benefit of it. An. The largest selling factor. Having a button at your finger to open it vs having to open the laptop and go get it. Is nice.
  22. jeff_t

    jeff_t Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,611
    Loc:
    SE MI
    Smart guy ;) . Been bugging me since the update.

    With the browser open, menu>settings>advanced. Scroll down to 'open pages in overview' and uncheck the box. My phone runs Jelly Bean 4.1.2
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2013
    Dairyman likes this.
  23. Dairyman

    Dairyman Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    458
    Loc:
    Southwest MO
    Almost like we've been here before.:cool: Its not even an option on Chrome.
    jeff_t likes this.
  24. Dairyman

    Dairyman Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    458
    Loc:
    Southwest MO
    I feel for you on the 3g every once in awhile I loose 4g and its painfully slow. But there's no need to fight opening the browser and finding the page...ect. Just put a bookmark link on one of your home screens. That's what I do for my favorite sites. :)
    jeff_t and Joful like this.
  25. clemsonfor

    clemsonfor Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,468
    Loc:
    Greenwood county, SC
    Again directions????

Share This Page