1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

In Progress Tapatalk users - please read and comment

Post in 'New Forum Hints and your Questions & Suggestions!' started by webbie, Oct 13, 2013.

  1. clemsonfor

    clemsonfor Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,468
    Loc:
    Greenwood county, SC
    I went with virgin mobile to save money. They don't have 4 g in like 90% of their markets. And supposedly sprint throttles virgin back as well?? The only carrier with halfway decent signal in most places near me is Verizon. But they also cost 2x as much!

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. jeff_t

    jeff_t Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,839
    Loc:
    SE MI
    Long press an open spot on the home screen. A menu will pop up, tap shortcut, then bookmark. Tap which bookmark you want to put there.
    Dairyman likes this.
  3. clemsonfor

    clemsonfor Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,468
    Loc:
    Greenwood county, SC
    Thanks
  4. clemsonfor

    clemsonfor Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,468
    Loc:
    Greenwood county, SC
    All a long press on home screen does is open a list of stuff on how to change my wall paper.
  5. Dairyman

    Dairyman Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    473
    Loc:
    Southwest MO
    Go to your bookmarks in the browser, long press the one you want, and select add to home screen.

    Your phone is better than you give it credit for.
  6. jeff_t

    jeff_t Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,839
    Loc:
    SE MI
    Oh yeah. I always use Launcher Pro. Probably different.
  7. tfdchief

    tfdchief Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,336
    Loc:
    Tuscola, IL
    Not a big deal, just answering your request for comments.
  8. webbie

    webbie Seasoned Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,111
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    When you go with the cheap jeans, they often don't fit as well.......
    My bro has a $20 a year program for his flip phone......

    I've looked into many cell phone programs, and the amount saved is always offset by worse service of some kind. We are paying AT&T about $60 per month (total - with taxes, etc.) for each iphone - that's pretty much unlimited (10Gigs for 5 light users)....calling, messaging and data, etc.

    I could, for instance, buy a cheaper or used phone outright and get walmarts $45 program (straight talk)...but for that last $15 I lose some features. I'm cheap, but not that cheap. I say get rid of the cable TV and go with netflix, but juice up the phone (if you are a regular user of it for browsing).
  9. clemsonfor

    clemsonfor Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,468
    Loc:
    Greenwood county, SC
    Netflix sux. I can't watch the shows I want when I want. Others dont come out on it.

    Trust me I know there is a trade off I live in a town of 100 people strange as it is virgin seems to have the best signal?? My work cell is a flip phone from Verizon. Up until a year or so I guess my fully charged battery would drain in less than 8 he's cause it searched for signal. My old cell was alltell and it would last days on a charge. Now my Verizon phone does not die as fast but still hardly has a signal. Att ha they don't exist hardly!!! Good thing they bought alltel so they can have their towers to get better signal. A guy I work with has att most calls when were at work go straight to voicemail as he has no service. Mine goes straight to voice mail in certain areas but I knew that no big deal to me.

    I have checked all the carriers, basically if I want better coverage I need Verizon. To get what I need I will pay $60-70 month for it, its just not worth it to me I pay $35 now and pretty much can live with what I have. Again att and Verizon have basically the exact same coverage at my house as sprint. The back roads that I drive and live around is dominated by Verizon att. Would cost me double and I would barely get better coverage.

    I'd love to have better reception but when you live in a rural area you live with what you have and that's more than cell signal problem its also lower incomes.

    Google McCormick sc I live near there and work from Thompson GA to lincolnton GA up to Calhoun falls SC. Look at the vast areas of nothing.
  10. Joful

    Joful Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6,709
    Loc:
    Philadelphia
    Sounds like it's time to move! :p
  11. clemsonfor

    clemsonfor Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,468
    Loc:
    Greenwood county, SC
    I'm not moving I have way to much stuff. Plus we bought the house as its halfway between both our jobs. 30 min for me and 30 for her.

    I wish we were not in the town but out with no neighbors. But u buy what's available and what you can afford.

    Could of bought land but would not have been able to afford to build a house. Or bought a house with some acres and not have the funds to renovate??

    Our home has had about $20k put into it since we bought it and sits on 1 acre.


    Sometimes you give up income potential to do what you love and want to do. I would not give it up though. I'd rather do what I do than make 2-3x what I do and be stuck in a suit at a desk and stupid meetings about ridiculous stuff. Yet have more time for paying to do what I want to do. And taking lavish vacations.
    webbie likes this.
  12. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,045
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    tried to download tapatalk on my kindle last Friday, couldn't do it, the message I got said was not compatible its a 1 year old kindle fire
  13. webbie

    webbie Seasoned Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,111
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    Might be that Kindle uses their own version of Android. That is, it's not stock.....
  14. BrianN

    BrianN Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    245
    Loc:
    Central BC
    Get rid of tapatalk. I used I for a little bit, but, doesn't work for me any more.
    More importantly, the security issue. Phones now adays will readjust, and the site works just fine.
  15. DawsonBuck18

    DawsonBuck18 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Loc:
    Georgia
    DO NOT TRUST CHINESE APS OR SOFTWARE. Now that I now that a Chinese company developed Tapatalk, I am removing it from my iPhone.
  16. dmmoss51

    dmmoss51 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    355
    Loc:
    Michigan
    I know that is true for my nook... it's an android OS but you can only get apps through the BN store. One of the very few things I don't like about the nook but BN is trying to protect their brand I suppose.
  17. fossil

    fossil Accidental Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    10,351
    Loc:
    Bend, OR
    OK, now that you've shouted that at us, you want to give us some background or justification for your emphatic advice?
  18. dmmoss51

    dmmoss51 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    355
    Loc:
    Michigan
    I realized this thread was from October. I started using Tapatalk in November didn't realize there are the issues. I like being able to monitor and quick answer from my phone which I could probably do through a regular browser.
    clemsonfor likes this.
  19. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,045
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    I dunno, was able to log on and read posts , just couldn't respond, it would allow me to "quote" but when I went to type it just wouldn't give me a curser, so , I figured, i'll just download the tapatalk It kept giving me a banner to click on and download it but when I tried to do it it wouldn't allow it. funny thing is I have no issues with the kindle here at home I use it a lot when im out on my deck in the summer, but I wasn't home when this was going on, I was up in Charlottesville logged onto the hospitals wifi.
  20. BrianN

    BrianN Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    245
    Loc:
    Central BC
    I had that problem as well webbie, on Firefox, then I downloaded Chrome. All seems to work well now.
  21. clemsonfor

    clemsonfor Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,468
    Loc:
    Greenwood county, SC
    Mine did this too, you need to download the newest full version that is now free.

    I have only logged onto the regular site a few times since this post. And I forget why. Something that could not be done on the app? Drop the app and I gaurentee some of us will rarely be back. In lower end phones running the full site is too slow. The ads and other formatting g slow it down. And when. Using cell signal its wicked slow for us foresters who spend our time away from decent reception.

Share This Page