Total Newbie Needs Help Deciphering This Whole Pellet/Corn Stove Quagmire

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

wagarfamilyfarm

Oct 25, 2010
Brown County Indiana
Okay all,

Like most Newbie's to this and similar sites, I've been lurking around for a while and doing my best to learn from the obvious think-tank that exists here, however at the end of the day each persons situation and installation is slightly different and I am looking for some help around my specific wants/needs. So here is the situation:

We live on 5 acres in Brown County Indiana and moved here just 4 years ago. The home is a manufactured home (not mobile home) and is a two-story 2800sqft salt-box style home. The primary heating source is a new (1 year old) Carrier Infinity LP Furnace (wish I would have done a multi-fuel furnace instead of this but hindsight is always 20/20). As such, the LP is killing us each year and for the past 3 years I've told myself that I was going to purchase a pellet/corn stove in the spring/summer (due to lower costs in those months) yet each time I figure we got through last winter without it why go for it now.... Well once again it's beginning to be that time of year and we just need to breakdown and get one. Our typical monthly LP costs during the months of Nov, Dec, Jan, Feb, Mar run 400-450 per month (OUCH!) so I know that this thing will pay for itself very quickly. So what's my quagmire?