Tree ID please.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

CHeath

Feeling the Heat
Feb 18, 2013
Northwest NorthCarolina Mtns
image.jpg

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    508.8 KB · Views: 140
Stand in your chair and tilt your head or turn your monitor upside down! LOL sorry!

Looks piney, but tough without seeing more.

I'm not good at this but it looks like Cherry 2 me. Pic 4894 is the Cherry I'll be working on when we get rid of the snow & ice, looks like the one pictured for the I.D.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    259.5 KB · Views: 148
  • 100_4894.JPG
    100_4894.JPG
    237.8 KB · Views: 159
Yeah, looks like zap is right.

Reactions: ScotO
They are on my land but Ive never seen any cherrys lol. Looks like zap is correct tho. Or dang close.

at any rate, would it be decent stove wood? after seasoned of course.

at any rate, would it be decent stove wood? after seasoned of course.
We burn about 3 cord per year, we have plenty on our property so we take what Mother Nature puts down. Some people will call it shoulder season wood, disregard that chit, you'll like it.

When we hit our coldest time in the winter we do switch 2 burning sugar maple & beech. We do heat from the basement or else we could burn it (Cherry) during the coldest months.

I hate to sound weird but give it a sniff. Cherry has a pleasant odor to it......
I'm thinking Zappy is right on the money. He knows his cherry (and about every other wood out there, too!)

They are on my land but Ive never seen any cherrys lol.