Vent cleaning with interior clean out T

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
May 1, 2012
Maine
This is my first year burning pellets and I'm almost through my first ton. Based on all I've read, it is almost time to clean the venting pipe.

I have an interior clean out T. My set up is a 4' interior rise, then a jet cap to the exterior. My question is, how do I clean out the pipe without making a giant mess inside my house? I ordered the "lint eater" system, but once I take the clean out cap off, isn't soot going to fall everywhere?

Lastly, how would you go about using the lint eater? Should I remove the ESP from my Harman Accentra FS and snake the lint eater up through the pipe, or take the exterior jet cap off the outside and snake the lint eater downwards through the pipe?

Thanks for your time and thoughts!!

LBT-Leaf Blower Trick from the outside if you can get at it.

Reactions: smoke show
Put a big piece of cardboard under the tee.

Open tee.

Stick shop vac with good filter into tee. Vacuum.

Take pipe brush or whatever you use. Brush pipe.

Vacuum again.

Take out ESP. brush through exhaust passage into tee.

Take cardboard outside carefully.

Ive put a brush out my jet from below. You may be able to put a brush in the jet have it go around the corner and down, then remove the the cleanout and vacuum.

I open the "T" clean out cap.
Suck out the cap.
Stick the lint eater into the vent.
Just behind it I stick the vacuum hose.
Run the brush all the way up and down a few times
All while holding the vac hose to the opening.
The Vac gets 95% of what falls.