1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Vogelzang Ponderosa

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by Huntindog1, Oct 21, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. diyrye

    diyrye New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Yeah the surface temp of the pipe. I just go by the "red zone" of the thermostat for too hot. Perhaps others run theirs hotter?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. BrowningBAR

    BrowningBAR Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    7,607
    Loc:
    Doylestown, PA
    Your pipe should not be that hot.

    Put the thermometer on the stove top and start shutting your air down sooner.
  3. diyrye

    diyrye New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Browningbar: that's with air shut down the whole way. I was saying that if I don't have my blower running that's what the temp would probably hit if i put a full load of wood in on a bed of hot coals. I could test it out again tomorrow with blower off. Usually I shoot for 400 pipe temp with blower on.

    Huntindog: what do you usually try to keep your stove top temp at or below I should say? I put it on my stovetop earlier today for the first time just to see the different in temp.

    That time I overheated I forgot to close the intakes, now I only usually ever push the left one in an inch or so. That's all it needs for a nice bed of coals to light up a fresh load. Then once I see flames I usually shut it completely again Or just about unless I'm lookin for extra heat like in the morning on first load.
  4. Pallet Pete

    Pallet Pete Guest

    If that air control is anything like my old Durango was you should open it up and be sure it did not warp or get crud in there. They have a poopy design ! Also make sure your latch is not bent another crappy design we had to replace 2 times in 3 years. they just wear down then bend. As for the tops of the stoves they are not level at least ours never was it had a sleight bump on the left side. We also found out the hard way they are not folded for strength and are not to thick either. We could never go above 600F safely with that stove.

    Pete
  5. diyrye

    diyrye New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    I hardly ever turn my blower off so I just loaded it while just coals were left, closed eveything up with blower off and pipe temp is at 440 and top temp is at 650. Almost all the logs are burning except two small splits (due to laying tightly) It's loaded with oak one 1/4 split round and several 1/8 splits.

    I just turned blower on and pipe is at 330 and top is at 600.

    I just don't think it's as airtight as some stoves. My old alaska kodiak, if I spun the intakes closed, the fire would pretty much go out. And that, packed full ,with doors open I never had glowing.. But the steel was thicker, and garage was colder and I had a large fan blowing on the side usually.

    I'm not trying to deter anyone from buying this stove. I think its a great stove for the price. You just really gotta learn how it burns and that it can get hot quick with little to no air going to it. Perhaps its just the conditions of my setup? It heats my whole house 1920 sqft finished everyday so far this winter. Garage stays at 50 with the interior door closed also. I haven't used any other source of heat. And I don't get up In the middle of the night to reload, always plenty of coals in am to fire right up. Farthest bedroom temp might dip to 65 maybe 63 though by morning if it's in the 20's.
  6. diyrye

    diyrye New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    So after almost a full season with the ponderosa I'm really happy i got it. I burned approx 4-5 cords total and only used oil heat for one week when I ran out of seasoned wood and had to break down and buy some... For a rushed install during the first year owning this house I could only prepare so much ha. Like all stoves it takes some getting used to, will need a coat of paint on the top (it's getting thin) but did a good job heating my entire house. I'm investing in an air handler this summer and going to run ducts to every room to get things moving. Ill pull air out of the room, on the other side from the stove, and I have co2 detectors between the stove and intake for air handler to be safe along with another detector upstairs. I encourage anyone to buy one and I'm sure they will only be improved.

    I'm sitting in front of it now enjoying the heat with the door hanging wide open for an hour.. No smoke in the room with the top log only an inch inside the lip of the door opening, smoke all goes up and out. Great for kids making s'mores!
    Huntindog1 likes this.
  7. VirginiaIron

    VirginiaIron New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Loc:
    Virginia
    If you got that stove over fired I think the painted surface would be clouded or frosted and discolored. My Quadrafire has a 1/4+ top plate and it appears drooped slightly in the center.
  8. Jags

    Jags Moderate Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    15,044
    Loc:
    Northern IL
    Year old post and DIYRYE hasn't been on since Jan. Gonna shut this one down for posterity.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page