What am I looking for in a fire?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

oddodaoddo

Jan 3, 2018
Virginia
Hello, total newbie here.

We got our Englander NC-30 installed on our main floor, stainless steel liner and all.

I got a fire going and it starts out big with lots of yellow flames etc. Is this what is supposed to be happening ALL the time? In other words, is the fire always supposed to be big and yellow? I noticed a bunch of red glowing coals at the bottom of the stove but the no more yellow flames...

Thanks!

This is normal. Fires start off showy, and depending on your wood, end in various amounts of coals.

How long did the flames last? Are you versed in the operation of the stove?

No. You won't see flames the whole time. Your stove will go through a cycle. For my 30nc, active flames are only present for 2-4 hours. After that, it's glowing coals. This part still puts off decent heat. If you need to accelerate the process, open the air a bit and or drag the coals to the front of the stove.

Also, be sure you're not over-firing the stove. If I have "big and yellow" flames in my fire box after the stove gets going, I would also have a stove with a glowing spot on the top. After 30-45 minutes of closing the air down in stages, you should have mostly secondary flames.

Hmm. OK - I must have moist wood or something else going on. The stove has been going on for an hour with air control fully open AND door slightly ajar. If I close the door, the flames die off and I can see the wood glowing but no flames :(