What is a "secondary burn"?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

claybe

Feeling the Heat
Nov 13, 2008
Colorado
I am new to this and searched, but could not find an exact explanation...What is this illustrious secondary burn????

Does anyone have pictures or do I need to just "experience it for myself"????

The flames don't have to be disconnected from the fuel source to be considered secondary burn but that is a parlor trick that many like to play. Simply extending the flame by using superheated secondary air is also secondary burn.

Check out this graphic from Quadrafire showing different areas of combustion. Basically, primary combustion is when the wood ignites, and secondary combustion is when the gases released by the burning wood get hot enough to burn. It produces a lovely fire while reducing the amount of particulate matter emitted by the stove by up to 90% (so the EPA claims).

http://www.quadrafire.com/images/qdf_four_zones.jpg

Lots of people stress because they think they need to see flames that appear to be coming out of the secondaries all the time. On my stove, that happens for a very short amount of time. Here's a short clip that shows secondary flames. Watch also for the flame that appears and disappears on the back, right, rear side. This is typical of a longer sustained secondary burn, those mystical flames.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LaHISkSNt4Q

After the initial light show, the secondary can be hard to see. The flames can be pretty faint in the top of the firebox.