1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Where to Measure Temperature on a Quadrafire 7100?

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by steelstring, Jan 9, 2013.

  1. steelstring

    steelstring New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Loc:
    South Central Indiana
    I would like to be able to measure the temp on this unit, but I'm not sure it lends itself to temp monitoring like a freestanding stove does. So a couple of questions:

    1. I have an IR gun, where would I measure the temp to get consistent readings?
    2. Would a stove surface temp gauge be worthwhile?
    3. I'd be really interested in monitoring flue gas temp. Do they make remote flue temp gauges and how do you install them in double wall pipe (air cooled SL-300)?
    4. Will there be world peace?
    I'm getting the hang of the burn in the unit, so I'm not sure how important it really is to have a temp gauge. It would be nice to have though, and I'd like to watch peak temps in the flue when its on a high burn setting.

    Thoughts from those of you with ZC fireplaces?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. TK of SC

    TK of SC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    I'm not a fan of temp gauges and temp readings. In my opinion , it makes a fire builder become too conservative and under fire stoves and fireplaces. Keep getting a feel for the fireplace. Load when it's down to active coals, get it robustly burning with your air control wide open. There's a timer on your fireplace so it stays on high burn for about 20 mins and then turns it down a little so you don't over fire. Look in the manual for that feature. The most efficient air setting is about 3/4 closed. After you have an initial high burn. Look for the secondary combustion under the air tubes. U can refer to previous topics on secondary combustion to get more info.
  3. TK of SC

    TK of SC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Of yeah, no to #3 & #4.
    Sorry .
  4. Village Idiot

    Village Idiot Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    116
    Loc:
    No. Va.
    I put a thermometer on my 7100 so I could use it to give me a sense of how the thing heats. Nothing more. It is most useful for comforting my wife. She is the nervous sort and at times needs reassuring that the stove is not going to melt into a glowing heap of metal. She now knows she can go look at the thermometer and as long as she can see that the needle is not pegged all is good.

    I chose a Condar Medallion because it is as unobtrusive as possible (black with gold markings.) Behind the fascia, I have it attached to the flue a few inches above the top of the stove. It can be seen by looking through the air outlet opening. It is very unobtrusive. I ended up having to wire use wire wrapped around the flue since the magnet was not terribly strong.
  5. steelstring

    steelstring New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Loc:
    South Central Indiana
    I am starting to get a feel for how to burn this stove, so it may not be necessary It would be nice to have the datapoint though. Once i finish the wall, i wont have access to the flue at all. I woulg need some kind of remote temp gauge i can install now before i finish the wall.

    No world peace? ;)
  6. Village Idiot

    Village Idiot Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    116
    Loc:
    No. Va.
    I installed my thermometer after everything was closed up. You can access the flue pipe coming out of the top of the stove by taking the fascia off. If you have forearms like Popeye you may want to find a kid with skinny arms to reach in there. Once the fascia is back on you just need to peek through blower exhaust vent to see the thermometer. Here is an image from the install manual. The red arrow points to there I have placed my thermometer.
    thermo-placement.png
    Blue2ndaries likes this.
  7. steelstring

    steelstring New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Loc:
    South Central Indiana
    Ahhh....I see now. Good idea!

Share This Page