Wood-burning efficiency…

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Mr. Kelly

Feeling the Heat
Hi everyone…

I’d like some opinions on how to best use my PE Summit to its full potential.

I bet I’ve been running this thing for about 10 to 13 years, and I still don’t think I have it dialed in just right. I use it to try to heat my 2000 square-foot old and drafty farmhouse. I burned 24/7.

Most of the time, I’ll only put three or four splits in there, because it seems to keep the area anywhere near the stove at a pretty reasonable temperature… But I read lots of people say that I should load the stove completely up, which would probably be double the amount of splits.

If I did this, it does produce a fair amount more heat right around the stove area, maybe too much, but the burns don’t really seem to last a huge amount longer… Which means I’d have a whole bunch more heat blasting out in the immediate vicinity, but does that really do much for the rest of the house? And, I’d be using twice the amount of wood.

What would be the most efficient way to burn with this stove to heat a very drafty old 2000 square-foot farmhouse?

Thoughts and opinions would be great!

First I'd suggest doing whatever can be done to reduce drafts, which can be a challenge in old homes.

Moving air around is one of the biggest challenges of wood burning. As discussed in other threads pushing cold air from the farthest reaches from the stove towards it creates the best air loop, but if you immediately lose the warm air to drafts it isn't helpful.