10 CPM Cleaning Question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Atomicskr

Nov 20, 2018
Annapolis, MD
So I'm new to this pellet stove. It's a 10-CPM made in 2009. Ran great at the beginning of the season but recently has started overflowing the burnpot on any heat setting above 5. Decided to give it a thorough cleaning today. Cleaned the vertical and horizontal parts of the chimney, removed and cleaned the exhaust blower and housing. Removed the burnpot, cleaned the top ledge, sides etc. I removed the cover plates that the slides hit and found a ton of ash back there. What is that area? Could that excess ash be the cause of my overflowing burnpot? Are there any areas I missed in cleaning? I can't seem to find a good guide for that model.

That would be the heat exchange area, where the magic happens to make the stove a heating device. Yes it it vital that area is cleand regularly thats where your heat from the flame is transferred to the air the convection blower sends into your room. It is also a pathway for heated waste/ash on its way towards the combustion blower to be sent up the pipe and outside. Ash buildup clogs the path thus restricts the airflow and heat and also how well your flame burns.

Last edited:
Yes,I think you will find your stove,after time,can benefit from the rubber mallet,leaf blower,air hose tricks,they get plugged.

Reactions: Atomicskr