About to join the boiler crowd..advice appreciated

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

WireNut

May 30, 2013
Kingston, NY
Hi all -

I've been mulling over buying a new wood stove or boiler for a couple of years now as my current wood stove is simply an iron box with a pipe out the back...no baffles and tons of wasted heat. I found out my bank was having a loan "sale" this month, so I applied and got the financing....and I just bought the last carbon steel e140 from Alternate Heating Systems had in stock (or so I was told) at a significant discount.

I've read countless thread on here and other forums, but finally decided to register and make a post to see if anyone had some specific advice or hints for me. I'll give you a little back story and some pictures to illustrate my questions.

My house is approx. 1,600 square feet between two levels. It's a farmhouse built in the 1920's, and is insulated like one. I recently replaced all of the windows (36 in total) as they were the old wood and weight style that were most likely put in when the house was built. I have zero insulation in the walls and don't want to get them insulated just yet as I'd like to run new pipes to the 2nd floor in addition to replacing all of the old BX electrical wire to both floors, and blown in insulation would just get in the way of this. Here is the general layout of my house:

First Floor
Visio-Proper 1st.jpg
Second Floor:
Visio-Proper 2nd.jpg