Advice on splitting Hackberry

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Qvist

Burning Hunk
Mar 5, 2019
Eastern Panhandle WV
I just had a 90 or so year old hackberry taken down. It's about 2.5 ft in diameter and very difficult to split. Also lots of limbs. Does Hackberry get any easier to split as it dries? I have been splitting the rounds with a chainsaw. I have been thinking a splitter for the rest, and I have never used one before. It's hard splitting.... Even with wedges and sledge. There's some walnut there too. No problems with that.
20220217_172801.jpg

Last edited:
Advise is the same as all other wood...

1) Use a power splitter. Hydro, kinetic, electric or what ever else you have will substantially reduce the workload.
2) If #1 is unavailable, and you're manually splitting - no matter how big the round, there is always a spot 4-6 inches from the outer edge. Hit it there and work to cleave off a slab of wood. Once that happens, rotate and repeat. Ultimately you'll get down to a manageable 'center core'. THEN you can aim for the center and split it in half.

I've been having my troubles with hickory so I'm just gonna rent a splitter one weekend, trying to split it with a sledge and wedges is too time consuming, my advice is rent a splitter and knock it off in a few hours. I have 4 cords to split so the cost is worth it, looks like you have a lot there too so probably worth the cost.