Advice on thermostat/fan config

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jvanase

Sep 27, 2012
Northern CT
This is my first year burning, and all has been great thus far. I'm wondering how I can get better control though.

Situation is:
-stove in basement
-run forced air furnace fan to distribute heat throughout house (basement + 2 stories)

When I run the stove on setting 2 (since setting 1 appears to be a standby, doesn't even run the blower), it does a pretty good job at keeping the house at temp overnight. Might lose 1 or 2 degrees over the course of the night when it gets cold out. I crank it up to 3 when I want the house temperature to rise, then I turn it back to 2 when it gets where I want it to be.

Problem is, when I go to work I either have to leave it on or turn it off. If I leave it on, it gets pretty warm in the house and I feel like I'm wasting fuel doing that. If I turn it off though, it gets down into the high 50's (when its in the 30's during the day). When I get home, I crank the stove up to high and it takes about 2 hours for the house to warm back up again, at which point I can turn it back down to 2 for maintenance.