Advice on used log splitter

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jsox

Dec 11, 2009
nebraska
Hadn't really thought I was ready to buy a splitter yet considering its my first year of burning. I came across a john deere 52 splitter for around 300 bucks, seems like a a good cheap way for me to get into wood processing. My concern is that its only a 12 ton splitter. Not sure if this is underpowered for me doing 2 to 3 cords a year. The guy said he has babied it for 10 years and it has new hoses. Any advice would be great, Im not trying to rush into anything but I don't want to miss out on a good deal.

take a couple rounds that you mostly dealing with and see how it does....If you have a lot of big rounds over 28in. it to small but if your mostly under that should do ok!

I don't own a splitter but back when I had a bunch of wood to split I rented a 13 ton for the local tool rental place.
I had some pretty good size oak and some other tough stringy wood (maybe elm) that you couldn't really split by hand.
The 13t splitter had no problem with anything I put in it.

For $300 I don't think you can go too far wrong, you should always be able to sell it for what you paid.
I say go 4 it.

buy it you can not go wrong at 300

just give it good look over make sure the motor runs well, the pump runs good. no leaks, beam is not bent, rams extends and retracts smoothly, split a few rounds if it all checks out ok the price is decent .

check the welds on the beam too