Am I being too cautious?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

BigAcres

Jan 2, 2019
Michigan
Hello my fellow burners. Sorry if this is long, but I'm looking for an educated response :). I've got the heatilator constitution and have had quite a few fires in it now. Some of which have lasted about 48 hours. I'm an ex firefighter and so I know I'm a little cautious and over anxious. But here we go.

First let me start with the house: 2150sqft ranch. 9' ceilings throughout main floor and basement with a 900sqft great room with cathedral ceilings. Its pretty open layout with great room in the center and 2 bedrooms and bathroom on one side and master bed/bath and office on the other side.

When I burn i constantly monitor temps unless i really have the air choked off like i do at night or after i leave in the morning (the wife isnt ready to poke and throw wood in....yet). The hottest I've gotten the top of the fireplace and into the chimney is about 420deg. At that point the stove is putting out a lot of heat, but with the expansion of all the metal, the pinging and popping sorta freak me out, so i like to throttle it back to about 350 ish. I have not been able to "cruise" at 350 just because of my wood selection. Im burning oak, poplar, and maple so depending on what I throw in there i can tell the burn temps are different.