Another backyard scrounge almost costly.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jatoxico

Minister of Fire
Aug 8, 2011
Long Island NY
Back in August we had a major but very localized storm. Of the many downed trees, one was an oak leaner hung up about 20' up on a sassafras. Couple days ago the remains of Patricia knocked it down into my yard still on the sass but at a height that I could cut it.

Now I freely admit I'm no chainsaw expert but I've read and learned from the more experienced folks here and watched the BC feller series. This has given me a healthy respect (fear :)) of what can happen.

After cutting everything hanging freely, I started cutting the section against the standing sass. My first cut was a top cut made from the uphill side with the sass between me and the leaner. I cut about 1/4 way through watching carefully for any binding. Satisfied with the top cut I started in from the bottom.

As my bottom cut approached the top cut it started to close as the tree settled which I expected so I went after it. All of a sudden there was movement and being a novice it didn't register and next thing I know the bar is stuck. Now I couldn't figure out how it could be binding both top and bottom but stuck it was.

There was just a little holding wood so I grabbed a bow saw and started to cut with my right hand and holding the saw (off with brake on) in my left. Still with the sass between me and the leaner. Suddenly and without warning the tree broke free and shot uphill (towards me) about 4'. If I was not protected by the sass it would have thrown me 20'.