Another Dirty Glass Question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Mastoo

Oct 8, 2011
MO
I'm new to advanced wood burning but I've been reading this forum for the last month and everyone here is great. I now know what a secondary burn is. hehe. So anyway, I have a new Lennox Montecito and I get brown deposits on the glass covering maybe 4 - 5" at the left side. Hopefully my attached photo shows this, or you can see it in my signature picture. I've used a variety of woods, all seem dry to me. I only see smoke during the startup. The brown stuff cleans off with a rag dipped in ash (thanks to this forum). I've tried leaving the air all the way open and closing it to 1/2 but it didn't make much difference on the glass. From various threads here, I'd guess either my fire isn't hot enough, I have a leak on the left side, or I'm being too picky expecting perfectly clear glass. Can I get your thoughts on this please? Oh and this thing is amazing how much heat it puts out.

Attachments

• 005 (3).jpg
    005 (3).jpg
    41 KB · Views: 1,869
It could be just the nature of the stove - which would fall under the too picky label, but you could check some things.....
It could be that the gasket near that area is leaking a bit and letting air flow in in that corner....this could be either the door gasket or the glass gasket and chances are it would be at the top of where the mark is......where it was loose or not contacting.

Still, if it stays that clean and the brown ash wipes right off - you are probably in the "good to go" mode....