another newbie with Jotul(?) stove... and questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

budgetburner

Oct 26, 2016
Eastern Pennsylvania
Hello- I am new to stoves, but have dealt with a few fireplaces. Moved this summer into a nice, small rental house with ancient electric baseboard heat, but a ready-to-go hearth setup which vents into a good brick chimney with terra cotta sleeving. There was a stove here in the recent past, but a previous tenant took it or got rid of it. The house is bi-level (on a cliff overlooking the river); total space is maybe 900 sq. ft. The chimney extends about 20 feet from the opening in the hearth (hearth is on basement level, and there is a peaked attic space above the ground floor).
Being budget-conscious and very DIY-oriented, I wanted to get a used stove and install it myself. I shopped and researched older stoves, and settled on what is most likely a Jotul knock-off... perfect size, and delivered (to the hearth) by the seller's sons. A good deal, I think, for $300 delivered, but I'm still hoping to avoid paying anybody to help me install it.

First, here's the thing itself: has the flip-down, roll-under door, and the screen, like a Combifire. But no mfr. name anywhere, and the "leather grain" finish and other details make me think it's not a Jotul.I reckon it will behave like a Jotul, though. The seller had it about 10 years, and it was last used earlier this fall. Bricks are all there, no cracks, door mechanism works fine. It even has the bar that can be inserted to keep wood from rolling against the screen when in "fireplace" mode.

bbIMG_3518.JPG