Any thoughts on getting this tree on the ground?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Hunter8282

Mar 14, 2024
Michigan
Large oak. Shovel leaning against it. No central trunk. Just those crazy octopus arms.

Any ideas on getting those on the ground safely? I'd like to harvest the wood without losing anymore to rot etc.
20240325_163713.jpg

I would probably notch the big branch on the left of the picture and then do a plunge cut. I'd then cut the trigger or whatever you want to call it. You might be able to do the same thing to the right branch or even cut the rest of it down at one time.

Disclaimer; I'm not a professional and my opinion is only an opinion. Maybe a pro will drop in and offer some better advice.

Reactions: johneh
The big branch on the left, saw up from the bottom six inches. Then come in from the top and saw down to the first cut, it will fall right off. That is one crazy looking oak tree.

Large oak. Shovel leaning against it. No central trunk. Just those crazy octopus arms.

Any ideas on getting those on the ground safely? I'd like to harvest the wood without losing anymore to rot etc.
View attachment 326146
Trees like that, I let mother nature take care of. You also have a widowmaker up high on the left side.

Reactions: Dataman
Yeah, it makes me nervous. :eek:
I just really want to get the wood cut and split so it can start drying. :cool:
I'm not sure how much land you have but I "wood" look for something easier or safer but that's just me.

Reactions: zinger827