Are there disadvantages to using heat shields, when you don't need them?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

teg

This question is only for wood stoves that DON'T HAVE to use heat shields for insulation. I have rock walls on 2 sides and 5 foot clearance on the other side. Would my house heat up faster without the heat shields or does the same amount of heat given off the stove go straight up into the room? (Am I losing any extra heat up the chimney)

I have a Buck Stove, 81 with heat shields (thought it would be safer for our dog). Yes, I'm new to wood stoves. Our dog has passed away so I'm debating about removing the heat shields. If removing the shields allows the stove to heat the house better, I'll do it. If it does not change anything, I leave them on.

My guess is removing them would allow the 2 rock walls to absorb radiant heat and store it for released later on but that does not change the amount of heat the stove produces.

This question is only for wood stoves that DON'T HAVE to use heat shields for insulation. I have rock walls on 2 sides and 5 foot clearance on the other side. Would my house heat up faster without the heat shields or does the same amount of heat given off the stove go straight up into the room? (Am I losing any extra heat up the chimney)

I have a Buck Stove, 81 with heat shields (thought it would be safer for our dog). Yes, I'm new to wood stoves. Our dog has passed away so I'm debating about removing the heat shields. If removing the shields allows the stove to heat the house better, I'll do it. If it does not change anything, I leave them on.