At what price per cord is it not worth scrounging?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok im new to burning, im really enjoying keeping my house nice and toasty for less money.And ive been scrounging
and im thinking how its not worth it. Even under the best circumstances we have a place right now that a farmer wants every tree taken down and gone so he can turn it into pasture. So far weve cut down walnuts and hedge trees. Work hard all day long and hand truck the wood up a rocky hill i end up with about 1/2 cord of wood then it still needs to be split when i get home. Around here you can buy a cord of oak cut and split all day long delivered and stacked for $150.00 or pick up for $90.00 im not sure its worth hauling out $1,500 worth of chainsaws and all the backbreaking labor for that? Its also funny that there are always craigslist ads wanting you to come cut & split up their downed trees, and leave half of it for them because its theirs. some even want you to haul off the branches!

Constrictor said:
Ok im new to burning, im really enjoying keeping my house nice and toasty for less money.And ive been scrounging