Automating wood stove with Pi

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Good info. You must burn some pretty large splits if 3-4 fill the firebox. Takes 8-9 for me.

Depending on the weather Ive been doing 8 or 12 hr reloading schedules with my F45 with stove temps maxing out around 550-600 and slowly dropping to 150-200 by reloading time. Stack temps usually cruise 400-550 for first couple hours before falling off.
Hope I'm not out of bounds here. I'm a retired electrician. When I started out high tech was a 120 v relay with a light across the contacts. I've worked with programable logic controllers. I can see monitoring flue temp for safety. I know the dangers of a run away stove, been there, done that. One of the biggest scares of my life. Fell asleep and woke up I was hit with reality 10' from my silent flame wood heater made in Tarboro NC. Still using it 30 years now. My question is why go so high tech. Many years ago a friend wanted a way to control his air flow to maintain temp. My simple solution was to mount a solenoid actuator to the damper breaking it through a 120 volt thermostat. Temp dropped solenoid energized opening damper. Temp reached and solenoid closed. Very simple design worked great. This is not meant to insult just curious why so high tech.

Even better for when the power is out: a (calibrated) bimetal coil to operate a valve .

Temp dropped solenoid energized opening damper. Temp reached and solenoid closed. Very simple design worked great. This is not meant to insult just curious why so high tech.