Big Fat Logs

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mainemac

Mar 10, 2008
Maine
Hello Fellow Prometheans

Great forum
I am new at this with a Regency Medium sized wood stove insert.

My question is this : I have several big logs I simply cannot split by hand but not enough to rent a splitter

Can you should you just burn that mother down?
That is if I can stuff it in there is it safe ?
Will it burn ?

Obviously this is after a nice bed of coals are laid down.........

Thanks
:)
Tom in Portland Maine

It sounds like the rounds are small enough to fit inside your insert, but too big to split...is that correct? If so then I'd say yes...I do it periodically. I have (well had really) a handful of 10" or so diameter logs that were damn near unsplittable (very gnarly wood, rounds are telephone pole straight, but the grains are like a corkscrew). I toss them into the stove for overnight burns. Works fine for me.

Ditto... As long as it is well seasoned (remember it takes longer for a log to season than a split!) and you have a good coal bed, anything that you can get in the firebox will burn. The big splits or logs are great for all night burn sessions, especially in cold weather, however the usual tradeoff applies; the longer the burn the less heat you will get at any particular moment.

As a note, if the logs turn out to be too big to go on the way they are, it is possible to rip them endwise with your chainsaw, (carefully of course) and often starting a groove partway down will allow you to then split them with a sledge and wedge.

Gooserider