BK Princess questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Rearscreen

Minister of Fire
Dec 21, 2014
Vermont
So, I am pleading with my 85 year old spry relative that I am visiting in NH to get rid of his woodstove that he has had for 14 years. It's cracked, dangerous, etc. etc. It's in a raised hearth and when I sent the dims to Woodstock they said it's a no go for them. So I thought Blaze King insert. I have no experience with them. His questions are: How can an insert heat when it's buried in the fireplace? This befuddles him. An advantage is this brick chimney is all interior. The second question is how do you clean the chimney without taking it out? (He cleans the chimney himself every year)
Tomorrow we are going to a dealer near by to look. Thought I'd ask you folks here. The house is 4200 sf but has baseboard heat also. My question is if the electricity goes out what happens?
Debs dads fireplace general dims.jpg

Last edited:
It heats with the help if a blower. It's easy to clean. I cleaned top down and the ash falls into try he firebox, just have to make sure the cat lever is in the right position. I lost power for a week and my house was warm enough to live in, though not as comfortable as with the blower.

Inserts have a convective jacket surrounding the fire box. It's an air jacket where cooler air enters under or on the sides of the insert and is heated as it passes around the back and over the top of the firebox body. Usually there is a blower at the air entry point that assists convection of the heat.