Blower challenges

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

schmit

Jan 4, 2009
Michigan
Hey all, newbie here. I'm trying to assist the girlfriend w/ her wood stove and could use some guidance.

She said the fan isn't pushing out the airflow that it was. I watched the fan run and when it shut off, the motor spun freely for a while. I spun it with my finger too and it has no resistance... it's spinning free quite nicely. The info on the blower: Franklin Electric 1/4HP 115V 60hz 10.3a 1050RPM Cont Air Over.

After doing some reading on these forums, it appears that the capacitor could be a possible solution. The capacitor on this is very rusted, so I'm guessing it makes sense to replace this first.

My questions are - .
I've read different items about run and start capacitors. How do I tell which this is, or are they one in the same?

Also, from the reading I have done, it seems there is suppose to be a positive and negative terminal on the capacitor. Since it is so rusted, I can't tell which terminal is which, and I can't even tell what kind/brand/model it is. The wires going to the capacitor come directly out of the motor and both wires are the same color and both are silver wiring. How do I determine the replacement part I need, as well as determining which terminal is positive or negative? EDIT: I took a closer look and found that the 2 wires from the capacitor are spliced in just outside of the motor. 1 goes to a blue wire that goes directly into the motor. The other appears to go to the control panel that is also connected to a thermostat