Boiler help

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

kravvelocity

Nov 8, 2018
syracuse
Hello All,

This is my first time burning with wood. I bought a house that has an oil boiler and a wood boiler. The wood boiler is an itisca wb410 which i cant find any info on or manuals. I would like to use the wood boiler as a primary and oil as backup. I tested out the boiler last night and was working good. I have 2 circulator pumps. off the wood boiler is HS-105-SM-R3 bell and gossett. The pump on the oil boiler is a taco i believe.

All the valves are labeled what you turn on and shut off to run the wood boiler. This all works fine but my only concern is when all the thermostats are off there is no loop. The only time a loop is open is when on of the zones calls for heat. Is this ok or do I need to do something different.

I can upload pictures if anyone need to see whats going on.

Thanks for any info or advise!!

Travis

Attachments

• IMG_20181112_203322.jpg
    IMG_20181112_203322.jpg
    118.9 KB · Views: 158
There is more than one way to tie boilers together & to the system. Yes, pics likely needed. Of everything. Seems there should be some kind of loop between boilers. Unless it was plumbed so as to need manual intervention with valve turning, when you want to switch fuels. Which isn't a right thing to do but that doesn't matter to some sometimes...

It is definitely worth spending the time tracing out the lines and figured out what the controls will do.