Breckwell Big E Price

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

r.ludvigson

Hearth Supporter
Jan 29, 2009
Central Massachusetts
Hi Everyone,

I am new to the Pellet Stove Forum and I am in the process of purchasing my first pellet stove. I am currently interested in the Breckwell Big E as it is both economically priced, and from what I read, throws plenty of heat.

My question to the forum is what type of price is this stove going for? I am looking at the model with the large glass door, and the ash pan drawer at the bottom. I can currently get this for $1,699.00 until February 14th, and wanted to know A) if that is a fair price and B) if this stove is a good starter stove for the money.

I have a 3 bedroom bungalow in Central Massachusetts. Home was built in 1920, so insulation is non existant in the walls. I am in the process of adding replacement windows to the upstairs and also adding about 14" of blow in insulation in the attic. Stove will be positioned in the living room in front of the fireplace and home has a pretty open floor plan. Two large french doors open off of that living room to a staircase so I think some heat should travel upstairs pretty good. I would like this to be my primary heat source with my oil boiler only kicking on very rarely.

I look forward to any replies and thank you in advance!

Ray

Forget the stove and spend the money on insulation