BRECKWELL P24I Issues

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

adamztoyz

Oct 27, 2008
Western New York
Hi,

I am new to burning pellets and got a good deal on a used Breckwell P24 insert. It has worked great until this last week where the flame keeps going on when I leave it. When I come back after an hour or two there's a huge pile of pellets in the burn pot and obviously no flame. I have adjusted the damper rod and left it out about 1/4 inch as the manual says online and it appears this is when it goes out. Is there too much draft? It has become very windy outside around here and didn't know if there was a draft down the chimney affecting it? I have been getting a darker soot on the three windows and it does get smokey inside the insert at times and read perhaps that a door gasket may need to be replaced? I don't know. Also for the past few weeks I have had the opposite issue where there haven't been many pellets dropping. I bought some aluminum polish and some steel wool and was going to try to smooth it out. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

Did you drop a liner all the way down the chimney? What is your chimney? What is your venting?
What are you using for intake air?
Damper only a 1/4" out? Please give the fire some air. Remember your fire triangle HEAT, FUEL, AIR
One the control board what position is your toggle switch in?
Let me know or call

Eric
330-876-0200

Hi,