Broken switch on table saw

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Easy Livin’ 3000

Minister of Fire
Dec 23, 2015
SEPA
I have a low end Delta table saw with a broken switch. I'm no electrician, but I'm sure a can tackle fixing this... with some advice from my hearth buddies. It has a 15 amp motor. What kind of switch do I get?

I'm not going for a factory replacement, it's poor design is what caused it to fail in the first place, and there are no kids around here that warrant the safety switch that came on it.

I would get a standard house wiring 20 amp switch. You can get in HD,

Reactions: Easy Livin’ 3000
No, don't get a standard house switch to run a motor! The inrush current will kill it in short order. Get a heavy duty type switch that's rated for motors. It looks the same externally, but the guts are made to take the high startup current of a motor.

Reactions: Ashful
No, don't get a standard house switch to run a motor! The inrush current will kill it in short order. Get a heavy duty type switch that's rated for motors. It looks the same externally, but the guts are made to take the high startup current of a motor.
Well that was a close one! Where does one find such a switch? Thanks heat seeker.

Any good hardware store will have them. They cost a bit more than a standard switch, but will do the job for you. They even make them for 220 volt applications. I recently bought one of those, and it cost, IIRC, about $15. A 120 volt switch should be a lot less than that.