Building a Hearth Pad for an Unlisted Stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

FrenchyRaoul

Nov 2, 2018
Underhill, Vermont
Hello all,

I'm very new to hearth.com, but this site seems to be the place to go for wood stove questions!

I purchased a wood stove off of craigslist a few years back, and am looking to install it in my cabin. I have been reading a lot about hearth building, but wanted to check in here before I put it together, so I can make sure what I am doing is safe. First and foremost, I can't identify the stove I have, but the one post I found containing a similar stove identified it as a 'Tucker' wood stove. It has 'Allagash' stamped on the front. Here is an image of what the stove looks like:
W2gMicP.jpg

pFO7TH7

Anyway, this is my current plan. I would like to build a heat shield out of brick, 1" off the wall, with a 1" air gap at the bottom. This should allow my clearance to be 12" off the wall with the stove. I plan to use ceramic spacers and concrete backer board, and affix my bricks to that. In order to support the bricks, I plan to use small 1" squares of brick or stone underneath the brick joints to support it, but only under the joints so as not to restrict that airflow..