burning planer shavings and sawdust from shop

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

iceguy4

Minister of Fire
Nov 16, 2011
Upstate, NY
Since I have discovered my boiler doesn't mind fines, I have been bringing in my byproducts from wood shop and mixing with pellets. mostly sawdust. Is there a potential problem I'm not seeing. Its not a lot ...like 1/2 to 3/4 gallon per 20lb pellets. I wouldn't attempt with out a bottom feed... Flame seems higher.. Mostly doing it to get rid of some "garbage"....Thoughts?

I am a woodworker too and know about the nuisance of all those shavings and dust. I don't know anything about boilers but I use planer shavings to start fires in my insert instead of newspaper. It works great and gets rid of the stuff. Not sure what kinds of materials you work with, but I make sure not to burn plywood, MDF, composite, or anything other than solid wood.

You will have to check your clean out door for the feed plate more often to make sure that the sawdust is not packing in there. Also check the access panel on the burn pot to see if it is filling up more than with just pellets.

I am a woodworker too and know about the nuisance of all those shavings and dust. I don't know anything about boilers but I use planer shavings to start fires in my insert instead of newspaper. It works great and gets rid of the stuff. Not sure what kinds of materials you work with, but I make sure not to burn plywood, MDF, composite, or anything other than solid wood.