• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

evergreenvt

Feb 23, 2024
Vermont
Hi everyone,

I am new to wood stoves this winter, and I've been leaning heavily on this forum as a resource for safe and efficient burning. Thanks for all of your insights because they've been very helpful in getting started.

My questions revolve around strong draft and safe operating flue temperatures.

Location is northern Vermont. Setup (from the stove/ground up):
  • Lopi Evergreen NexGen-Fyre Insert (EPA certified, non-catalytic wood stove) set in a fireplace hearth
    • There is an aftermarket blower attached, ~260+ CFM (fireplaceblowersonline.com: part #9900123). It typically runs on medium to high while the stove is burning.
  • Flue offset connector box bridging the stove to the bottom of the stainless steel liner (couldn't fit/connect without it)
  • ~27' of 6" stainless steel liner (type 316) professionally installed by the stove retailer (Note: the liner setup is a bit strange, so I'll try my best to explain below)
    • The first ~5' of liner from the stove goes up through the old fireplace damper, which was removed to make space for the liner, and to the bottom of the prior owner's stainless steel metal chimney. This section is filled with rock wool I installed along with a block off plate following this website's guidelines and instructions.
    • The rest of the 6" liner runs through the Metalbestos (now Selkirk brand) Model SS 8" stainless steel chimney (pre-2100 UL rating, so rated for 1700). It has an offset (maybe 30 degrees?) halfway up in the middle.