Burrrrn times, thermometers and other trivialities

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Deep Fryer

Jun 6, 2008
East Coast NY
Hello everybody!
Been having fun reading many of your threads here on this fine forum, thank you so much for all the great information.
I was wondering if I could get your opinions on a couple of topics that I seem to be confronted with at the present moment.
This is my first year using a wood burning stove, I got the Jotul Oslo, and I have used it maybe 6-8 time so far (hasnt been that cold here). In reading the manual I says that the optimum temperatures are between 300-600 degrees.
Somehow I wound up with two thermometers and they are placed in the corners of the stove as indicated per the manual. The problem is that they are both giving me different temperatures and are about 100 degreees off from each other. Right now I'm using a Rutland and a Chimguard thermometer, the Rutland running higher/hotter.

My question is this, is there a good reliable brand of stove thermometers that are most commonly used by the wood burning community?