Can firewood be dried faster set by the stove?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Farenheit 451

Jan 26, 2019
Pittsburgh
Rookie question as this is my first year. I have several cord of wood stacked from spring I’ve already been using. Today I came in and saw my wife had stacked oak and Hickory I’d cut and split just yesterday near the woodstove. She had checked with a moisture meter and said it was below 20%. I said impossible that it takes two years to dry oak but sure enough the meter didn’t lie and it was all 20% or lower from having sat next to the fireplace a mere 10 hours.

Is this a firewood life hack to dry split wood faster? I have no real need to at this point but wondered if somehow the meter is not the only test to safely avoid creosote from hidden moisture I’m not seeing? I already know to split what’s in here a second time and take that reading as well but wanted others thoughts on this process. Thanks!

That is the outside of the wood, not the inside. The outside of wood will lie to you every time. Never test the outside of a piece of wood for moisture content.
Split one of the pieces and test the "fresh cut" at the ends and the center. Average them. It probably won't be 20% (if it was recently cut & you just split it). 25%-28% would be my educated guess.

Sent from my VS835 using Tapatalk

Dead standing oak or green live oak ?

check it at room temp. maybe your meter is sensitive to high temps ?
two years of seasoning in 10 hours is highly unlikely