Can you identify these logs?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

cbst09

May 21, 2020
North Carolina
There is a posting for free wood and the poster doesn't know what type of tree the logs came from. I'm supposed to pick them up tomorrow but just want to be sure it is not something difficult to split. I am in NC so I'm hoping they are anything but sweetgum. I am new at this and this is my first scrounge. Thanks

logs.jpeg

Those logs look very straight so I imagine they’ll be very easy to split. I’d grab them.

Looks exactly like sweetgum to me. Anything but easy to split. Worst ever.

Bring a maul with you and test before taking.

Reactions: enduring
Why split? Small enough to toss in
Some are, yes, but look at the ones on the bottom right and left, he'd have to have a boiler or a heckuva big stove to put them in, those on the bottom right should yield 4 regular size splits alone!

Reactions: JimBear
I'm on a roll today. Just picked a pickup load of red oak that had fallen. It is still very wet. It split sooooo easy though. It is now all stacked out in the sun. I'm pretty much done scrounging now, I'm just gathering for an occasional firepit. I do love reading the forums here though, makes me wish I had a stove and lived in colder climate sometimes....
oak.JPG