Chimney cap discolored

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

cwfirefighter01

Nov 22, 2021
Kentucky
I’m new to wood burning so any advice helps. We just installed our Drolet Columbia 2 with 16 feet of Security stove pipe straight up through our attic and out the roof. 3-2-10 rule was followed. Double wall interior, triple wall through attic out the roof. We just passed the break in period of our stove and had several big long burning fires. We usually burn of the evening and let them burn out over night after putting fresh wood in before bed. Our chimney cap is now totally black and brown colored And the top of stove pipe near the cap is bluish color. We live in Kentucky and the temp outside varies the past few weeks from upper teens to upper 40s at night. Our wood is dry according to moisture meter readings below 18%, Have we got our Chimney cap and stove pipe to hot or what is the possible issue? Is it damaged? Below is a picture of our stove.

image.jpg

This is the stove pipe and cap.

image.jpg

Kudos for a nice installation. Is the air being turned down progressively as the fire gains strength?

The best way to know how the stove is burning is by the flue temperature. A probe thermometer is required for double-wall stove pipe. It will let you know how much heat is going up the flue.

The rainbow colors on the pipe are normal, mine does that too, it's just some of the flue gases condensing on the outside causing that.

My chimney cap never turns completely black however, brown and discolored, but never black. Mine always washes off with rain, by fall my cap is shiny again like new.