Chimney cleaning question with pics

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Camben

Mar 22, 2014
PA
This is my first attempt at cleaning my chimney. I borrowed my father in laws brush. Due to the height of my chimney I decided to give it a try from the fireplace because I am scared of heights and don't feel comfortable. My question is this, is it ok to clean the chimney like this? I took the damper off which allowed the brush more clearance and it also gave me a better view of the flue. I thought it went pretty good and wasn't that much of a pain to do myself. I posted a few pics of the process and would like any and all comments on how I went about this or things I could do different. I have an open fireplace and usually burn it hot so I wasn't expecting to see much. Do the pics look normal with what is laying there or should I just pay a chimney sweep $140. image.jpgimage.jpg

Can you look up the chimney with a very good spotlight / flashlight and see the tiles well enough to see if there are cracks?

Is there a smoke shelf that creosote may be accumulated on that can be cleaned?

Were you able to reach all of the way to the top with the brush / poles you were using?

Are you certain that if there is a cap, that it's clean and still properly secured since it probably was bumped? (binoculars might help here).

Was the brush the appropriate size for the chimney? Did it fit snugly but not so tight that you were worried about it getting stuck?

Good luck.